Stop privatisation

Bank Employees’ massive Dharna at Delhi

-By our reporter

A massive dharna was held on 21st July 2022 at the call of UFBU at Jantar Mantar, New Delhi. More than 700 leaders and activists from across the country participated in the Dharna which lasted for more than 4 hours.

The Dharna was organised against the sinister move of the Government of India to privatise Public Sector Banks.

It was addressed by Comrades Tapan Sen (CITU), Amarjeet Kaur (AITUC), Rajiv Nidhi (AICCTU), N K Premachandran (UTUC), R K Sharma (AIUTUC), Amresh (TUCC). Dipak Sharma (INTUC), Girish Chandra Acharya (BMS) besides Com D Raja, General Secretary of CPI. Leaders and members of Parliament from Congress, DMK, RJD, AAP, TRS & CPI-M conveyed their support and solidarity to the demands and struggle.

Representatives of all the 9 constituents of UFBU comrades Rajen Nagar, C H Venkatachalam (AIBEA), Murali Soundarrajan (AIBOC), S C Balaji (NCBE), Sanjay Kumar Khan (AIBOA), Debeshis Basu Choudary (BEFI), O P Sharma (INBEF), Pradip Gupta (INBOC),  Manmohan Gupta (NOBW), Satish Shetty (NOBO) addressed the Dharna. It was unanimously resolved that any move of the Government of India to privatise Public Sector Banks would be countered by Nationwide strike. Further the motivated report of  Poonam Gupta (NCAER) and Arvind Panagaria (Former vice chairman of NITI Aayog) suggesting privatisation of all the Public Sector Banks was condemned.

Earlier the Central Trade Unions CITU, AITUC, INTUC, HMS, AIUTUC, TUCC, SEWA, AICCTU & LPF) opposed privatisation of Banks and  greeted the initiative of UFBU to fight against privatisation through various action programmes including Dharna at National Head Quarters by issuing a joint statement on 18th July 2022.

Comment here...